A kids’ point of view: My love-hate relationship with Athletes With Purpose

By Colleen, age 12

The word AWP brings feelings of both hate and appreciation. I hate it because it is one of the hardest workouts I have ever done.

FullSizeRender (2)I appreciate it because I know it makes me a better basketball player.

AWP stands for Athletes With Purpose. It’s a sports facility where you can go to basketball workouts. It’s kind of like having a personal trainer, only they make you do all this basketball stuff — and everything is full-out sprint.

The drills they have us do are really good skill builders. That being said, I find myself dreading the day of the week when I have to go. But at least my friend Briley went along. That made it more fun.

I hope to get more of my friends going to the Y now that they offer free memberships to seventh-graders. Then we can play even more basketball!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A kids’ point of view: My love-hate relationship with Athletes With Purpose

  1. bgddyjim says:

    There’s a trick to those really hard workouts… As you work harder, they get easier. The trick is to stick with it long enough for it to get easier. You’ll get there if you work for it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

