Garmin’s take on a run up the toboggan hill

The toboggan run at Pokagon State Park turns out to be exactly 1/4 mile from the end of the line to the stairs at the top.

The toboggan run at Pokagon State Park turns out to be exactly 1/4 mile from the end of the line to the stairs at the top.

Pokagon State Park was the perfect place to try out Ben’s new Garmin Foreunner GPS watch he got for Christmas. He was nice enough to let me borrow it on a trail run so I could have some clue how far I’d gone, given that I wasn’t following a map so much as just taking this or that fork in the path.

On Sunday, I got the bright idea to run up the toboggan path before it opened for the day. Turns out it’s exactly a quarter-mile from the end of the line to the stairs leading to the launch at the top. (It would’ve also shown me the incline, if I’d realized that before deleting my run, not wanting to clutter up my son’s watch with his mom’s crap.)

I found it vaguely irritating that some riders put their toboggans in a vehicle and drove it up to the top. (Must we soft Americans always look for the easy way out?) On the other hand, these glorified 4-person sleds do weigh around 65 pounds each. If you were trudging up the hill through snow and ice, as opposed to dry pavement like we had all weekend long, I guess it would get kind of tiresome. But still…

This trip, by the way, was my family’s birthday present to me. My husband decided years ago it was too hard to figure out what to buy me, so every year we go on a short getaway just after Christmas. This one was particularly awesome — the Potawotami Inn at Pokagon State Park may be one of my favorite places in Indiana — though Rowan had to work and only got to stay for part of the trip.

Ben, Colleen, Cassie and I take our first plunge on the toboggan.

Ben, Colleen, Cassie and I take our first plunge on the toboggan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garmin’s take on a run up the toboggan hill

  1. MikeR says:

    Pokagon is one of my favorite places in the world.

    • tischcaylor says:

      You know what I love about Pokagon almost as much as the trails and toboggan run and all the outdoor stuff? The jigsaw puzzles! I love to do them but I never have or take the time at home. I love how there are all these jigsaw puzzles sitting around the lodge in various states of completion. We spent several hours one evening working a puzzle in the little library there, and Ben started an enormous Lincoln Log project in the front lobby lounge around 2 a.m. and finally came to bed around 4 after building a huge fortress that used up every log in two giant cans. Such good old-fashioned fun!

  2. Fun! Happy birthday and new year!

Leave a Reply

