The horror of eating

DSCN4040edited

Lola the ball python consumes a mouse. 

Lola didn’t mean to bite Doc Ferriss Oxide.

She’s famished, hasn’t eaten in a week, been pacing around her enclosure – or what passes for pacing when you’re a python – and on top of everything else, her eyesight’s not so good. So when the lid opens and a hand reaches in, how was she supposed to know it wasn’t dropping a befuddled mouse into her lair, but humoring a little girl’s request to watch Doc hold the snake?

There wasn’t much blood; it was just a nip. The instant Lola realized this piece of mammalian flesh was attached to a body bigger than hers, she relented.

And yet, watching Lola in action shortly afterward – hugging a Stuart Little lookalike with the force, Doc Oxide tells us, “of 10 blood pressure cuffs” – you realize that despite what people say, a ball python could most certainly kill a human. If a belt or a scarf can strangle something as vulnerable as a human neck, you think this muscular  5-footer couldn’t do the job?

Luckily, snakes – unlike my own species – rarely kill anything they don’t intend to eat.

DSCN4051edited

Doc Ferris Oxide, aka Neil Ainslie, feeds Jake the garter snake while Lola, left, and sixth-grader Owen Stein watch. 

I volunteered for this assignment.  As a trail runner, it’s counterproductive to haul a snake phobia into the woods. Photographing Stuart Little’s horror is like a front-row seat to the live production of my childhood nightmares. This particular photo, in fact, proved too graphic for the hometown paper, which opted to run this  more conventional shot instead.

Once Stuart’s head vanished and only his feet were sticking out, though, I found myself viewing the scene from Lola’s perspective. Without taste buds, does a snake ever get to experience the joy of eating?  

I suppose Lola is used to nudging her meal into her mouth without the benefit of hands. But what an inconvenience!

Does she ever worry about some critter getting stuck in her throat?  

On this point, at last, I find common ground, recalling the time a burned bit of veggie burger crumble lodged in my windpipe.

Nobody was home but the dog, who watched with curiosity and apparent pity as I tried, unsuccessfully, to dislodge the speck sealing off my oxygen supply.

As the seconds ticked past, I contemplated my options. Dial 911? There was no way an ambulance would arrive in time. Were the neighbors home? Would they answer the door? We weren’t great friends. In their place, I might pretend I simply hadn’t heard.  

Time was running out. I sank to the floor next to Buddy, realizing this might be it: I’d never see Bob or the kids again. Such a stupid, pointless way to go. And yet instead of rage I felt increasingly calm. Resigned to my fate.

And then suddenly, inexplicably, the seal was broken. Air!

Apparently I’d relaxed enough for my throat muscles to stop constricting … or something. I guess I’ll never know exactly what happened. For quite a while after that I was a much more careful eater, obsessed with patience and gratitude, though eventually, of course, I returned to my hoggish ways. It’s my nature.

Watching Lola eat, repulsive as it was, ultimately helped me view her as less of a monster. She can’t help being a carnivore. That doesn’t mean I liked being near her: As a mammal, I can’t help feeling nervous around a creature capable of viewing me – even inadvertently – as prey.

Luckily, I’m not likely to encounter the likes of Lola running trails in northeastern Indiana. (Though it could happen – I have a hard time forgetting the time some idiot dumped half a dozen ball pythons about 10 miles south of here a couple of years ago.)  

The snakes I do see, much more frequently than I’d care to, are more like Jake, the little garter snake in the enclosure next to Lola’s at the Upper Wabash Conservation and Science Center in Bluffton.

In a way, he’s a much more disgusting eater than Lola is. The day I visited, Jake was gulping down creatures that were still very much alive – though I can’t say I felt as sorry for the doomed worms as I did for the mouse.

Compared with Lola, Jake seemed about as dangerous as a tube-shaped toad. Note to self: Remember that the next time I go for a run in the woods.

DSCN4065edited

Jack the snake eating dinner at the Upper Wabash Conservation and Science Center in Bluffton, Ind. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The horror of eating

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I can handle a lot of crazy things in life. Snakes are not one.

  2. Kate says:

    Great story… And I am so so happy you did not die!!!

  3. tischcaylor says:

    Thanks Kate. It would have sucked to miss that reunion (among many other things).

  4. Pete Githens says:

    Also happy you didn’t die.
    But also happy you made a bit of peace with the snakes. While I wouldn’t necessarily want a python as a pet (and I think the exotic pet industry should be much more heavily regulated), I do get annoyed when someone posts a picture of your average garter or black snake and everyone says “Ew. Yuck. I’d be scared”. As you mentioned, it’s just an animal trying to make a living like any other animal. Now, all the introduced ones in Florida and other places . . well . . all bets are off there.

Leave a Reply

