Colleen’s report on working out with a world-record holding personal trainer

Hi, it’s Colleen again. It has certainly been a long time since I’ve put my two cents on this blog. The first time I wrote a blog post for Mom I was 10 years old. Next month, believe it or not, I will be a freshman in high school.

Starting high school isn’t going to be about class schedules or who to sit with at lunch. It’s going to be the beginning of the first time I will not be hindered by my size.

This summer I have been working out with a personal trainer. And not just any personal trainer … Lalane is actually a world record-holding power lifter. She is shorter than I am and weighs like 132 pounds but she can squat and deadlift more than 300 pounds!

Lalane has been putting me through some tough workouts, but I love working with her. She is incredibly motivating. I have started running almost every day, lifting weights multiple times a week, and even doing yoga. YOGA! (It really must be serious if I’m doing yoga.)

Items of clothing that I had given up hope of ever wearing again are fitting better than ever. For the first time, I’m making progress… and it isn’t short-term.

My goal, for quite some time, has been to make the softball team. I’ve played on the travel team for a few years. Last year, I started going to the open gyms with the high school team. The coaches know that I work hard. Often, I can be seen running extra laps or flipping the tractor tire after practice/workouts. It has been established that I work hard during softball, but I needed to step it up if I wanted to really succeed. Just being able to hit the ball and field a grounder isn’t enough. I had to change my entire mindset.

I’ve still got a ways to go, but I know I’m going to get there. Thanks, Lalane!

DSCN3074

During one of our workouts earlier this summer Lalane was having me do rapid dead-lifts for cardio. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colleen’s report on working out with a world-record holding personal trainer

  1. Gpa says:

    Way to go Colleen, you have a great attitude.

  2. Wow! That is so cool! And the fact you figured out that it’s mindset –you’re awesome and inspiring Colleen!

Leave a Reply

