Holiday food log days 14-15: Eating large

You may have noticed by now that even when I’m not on a binge, I eat A LOT.

Scaling back to tiny portions is something I’ve never managed to master. It’s literally easier for me to fast than to be a dainty eater.

Still, when I’m on my game it’s kind of amazing how much I can eat for the calories. Here was yesterday’s 1,564-calorie intake:

12 ounces frozen broccoli microwaved

6 ounces fresh raspberries

6 ounces fresh blackberries

16 oz lite nonfat vanilla yogurt

1 cup uncooked rolled oats

½ cup walnuts

2 ounces cojack cheese

2 egg whites

2 slices Healthy Goodness 35-cal bread

The real winner in there is the berries. You can eat an entire container of raspberries for 88 calories and the blackberries are just 73 calories. That is a whole lot of satisfaction, plus berries are just so good for you.

On Wednesday I was in Atkins mode, mostly to help get me focused after an out-of-control eating day. I still managed to eat too much, including a boatload of nuts. But my (delusional?) thinking is that if I successfully limit myself to the types of food allowed on that diet, then that’s an iota  of discipline that I might be able to build on later.

1.5 cups of nuts (almonds + cashews)

4 ounces cojack cheese

2 chocolate peanut butter Atkins bars

Plain turkey burger with 12 ounces broccoli and 1 oz cheese

1 cup red wine

Note: I did not tally the calories on this. Not sure I want to know!

Holiday run streak update: As I mentioned the other day, I blew the run streak over the weekend. But I couldn’t resist restarting it. Nothing very interesting or impressive, just a mile run with Colleen the other day and then treadmill runs since. I’m still waiting for Colleen to come up with a penalty for the days I missed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday food log days 14-15: Eating large

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I know I was around 2,000 calories yesterday, maybe as much as 2,200 if my counts are off. Banana for breakfast, a 12″ Italian BMT on white w/ heavy mayo and an Arnold Palmer (1,050 cal.) and some chili and chips for dinner (700-800 cal.).

    I was hungry all day long, even after that sub. I am always impressed by women who have to stick to something like 1500 to 1600.

    • tischcaylor says:

      Good idea to have the big meal in the middle of the day. You are at least as good at dietary discipline as you are at cycling, and that’s saying something!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Thanks Tisch, I’m a semi-lucky noob next to people like you when it comes to dieting. My lack of awesomeness in that respect is masked by my penchant to ride like a madman. I do appreciate the compliment though and don’t wish to minimize it.

Leave a Reply

