Holiday food log Day 6: Food as anxiety meds

gatlinburg-fire-2

Yesterday was crazy. I had a big deadline, crappy sleep, and on top of everything else, we found out the condos overlooking Gatlinburg where our family has spent group vacations for the past 20 years or so – including two of my siblings’ weddings and my parents’ 50th anniversary – were destroyed in the Great Smoky Mountains wildfire.

Though we never owned them, just rented, the Highlands felt like home. Now it doesn’t exist anymore, along with those glorious views in the mountains we loved to hike. (See below for aerial view of what the Highlands looked like before and after.)

So yeah, I ate like a demented person left alone with the family’s food supply, which is pretty much the risk you run when you work from home.

As far as I can recall, the damage report looks something like this:

A big bowl of oatmeal with peanut butter, coconut, dates and walnuts.

An entire 16-ounce package of dark cherries.

A handful of cashews.

At least 15 dates. (Notice the attempt to stick with healthy overeating, up til this point? It doesn’t last).

Two homemade chocolate chip pumpkin muffins.

A chocolate-covered coconut Atkins snack bar. (Pathetic, I know, but this is about as “dangerous” of a treat food as I allow myself to keep around the house.)

Two bananas.

A slice of bread smeared with peanut butter.

Two cheese sandwiches, made with crappy processed American cheese.

I think that’s about it. It’s a good thing there wasn’t any ice cream, cookies or actual candy around the house (other than those “nature’s candy” dates and the Atkins bar) or I would’ve been in even bigger trouble.

On the plus side, I’m glad I made time to go for a brisk 4-mile run with my sister. Boy, did I need that.

burnedhighlands

The burned-out concrete shell of the condos, with the burned matchstick trees, and an aerial view of the same site, pre-fire. I don’t know if they can rebuild or not, but it will be a long time before that mountain view rebounds. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday food log Day 6: Food as anxiety meds

  1. Love how you tried sticking to healthy food in the beginning 😁

  2. OmniRunner says:

    Are you drinking water? I drink water all day at work and it seems to help. Sometimes we eat unconsciously, out of nervousness or habit. I find my self reaching for my glass of water without even thinking about it. If that were chips instead of ice water I’d probably be 10lbs heavier.

Leave a Reply

