Holiday food log Day 5: Creating a focal point

My husband has Mondays off, and except for occasional stints as a substitute teacher I work from home these days, so sometimes we’ll go to this Mexican place we like for lunch. Given that one or the other of us has worked Saturdays for close to 20 years, it’s our way of reclaiming a little bit of what passes for other people’s weekends.

Lately I’ve been working on making this restaurant lunch the focal point of my Monday eating plan. I’ve been getting a spicy grilled chicken salad and usually a glass or two of red wine. Other than that, I’m trying to keep my breakfast and dinner pretty contained.

With this in mind, yesterday I had half a cup of walnuts for breakfast and 3 celery sticks, an apple and 4 oz of colby cheese for dinner.

I was all set to type “worked for me,” like that was all there was to it, but it was a little tough. I was a little hungry in the evening. If not for this holiday food log blog thing, I might’ve caved and had something else. But I’m glad I didn’t. I like being able to reflect on my day and being able to picture what I ate without it looking like a cluttered, blurry mess.

So, if you are reading this, thanks for being there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday food log Day 5: Creating a focal point

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I can do pistachios for breakfast, but the celery dinner, now THAT’S impressive! Smart too, I’m a little jealous.

    • tischcaylor says:

      I always eat more in the mornings because, like you, I get up pretty freaking early. But unlike you, I rarely work out late in the day so I can usually get by with less at dinner. (Though this one was tough, as I said!)

Leave a Reply

