Holiday Food Log Day 4: The crazy carnivore

I was already up for several hours on Sunday before I figured out what eating plan I wanted to follow. By the time I settled on the “Vicki” diet, which is based on a nurse I interviewed last year who lost weight eating no more than 25 carbs every three hours, I was pretty hungry. Two bowls of leftover spicy chicken dip (recipe below) down the hatch.

vickie betz

Vickie Betz, a nurse I wrote about last year who helped motivate some people in my family to shed weight.

The good news: I stayed well within that carb count for my six 3-hour time slots, and didn’t eat anything during two of them. (On this diet, if you “miss” a time slot you don’t get to make it up later.)

The most satisfying thing was a peanut butter and lettuce sandwich on two slices of Healthy Goodness bread, which comes in right at 25 carbs.

But I came away feeling kinda grossed out about the ridiculous amount of meat I had at my folk’s house for dinner. The idea was to stick to meat and salad, but I had THREE thick slices of leftover Thanksgiving ham, a couple slices of turkey, and probably 8 meatballs. Ugh, especially when I consider I also had three bowls of that chicken dip over the course of the day!

My sister’s spicy crockpot chicken dip:

3 chicken breast halves (I used a 3-pd pkg of chicken in ours, to make it meatier)

2 cans corn, drained

2 cans black beans, drained

2 cans Ro-tel tomatoes

2 bricks cream cheese, one of which is added about half an hour before you want to eat.

Dump ingredients in crockpot and cook on high for six hours, is what her recipe says. Since I used more meat, and ours was frozen, I went a bit longer just to be safe.

Holiday running streak: Another bare minimum. Jogged a mile down the road in the dark at my folks’ house with a motley crew of likeminded relatives. (My brother drove alongside us to provide headlights and Christmas music.)

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Food Log Day 4: The crazy carnivore

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Mmmmm… meat! That’s my kinda diet!

Leave a Reply

