Holiday Food Log Day 2: Black Friday

Every once in awhile, when I want to stay focused or recover from eating too much or just don’t feel like “counting” anything – and when I don’t plan on a run that requires much in the way of carbs – I will follow the Atkins diet, for just one day.

Black Friday was that day. I knew I was going to be busy working on a project and likely wouldn’t get in much of a run. (Colleen and I kept the Holiday Run Streak going with a 1-mile jog on the River Greenway.)

Here’s what I had to eat:

4:30 a.m.: 1 oz cashews

6:30 a.m.: 1 oz colby cheese

9 a.m.: 4 eggs with spinach, onion and 2 oz American cheese

3 p.m.: One chocolate-covered coconut Atkins bar (the snack size, 170 calories).

5 p.m.: Two bowls of salad. First one was lettuce with a can of tuna, 2 boiled eggs and ranch dressing. Second was lettuce with about 2 oz leftover shredded chicken, 2 boiled eggs, and around a cup of cottage cheese. Also had a small spicy turkey sausage link from a package that Ben was heating up.

Please note that I am not a proponent of the Atkins diet. It’s just something I like to do on occasion to mix things up. 

As for Black Friday, I had Ben and Colleen order a couple of things for me on Amazon, and Colleen and I stopped at the Farm Home store on the way back from our run. There was only one other person in the whole store, and we bought exactly one item. But I must say, it was a good deal.

Holiday run streak total thus far: 5 miles

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Food Log Day 2: Black Friday

  1. Tony says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog again and liking my post on defining pre-diabetes. Congrats on your continued success in leading a healthy life. You seem to have it down now. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

