Naturally sweetened oatmeal cookies

dscn1752

Lately I’ve been experimenting with no-sugar baking recipes from Joel Fuhrman’s books Eat to Live and The End of Dieting. They don’t use artificial sweeteners, usually just some kind of fruit like bananas, dates, raisins or even prunes. This is one that I modified somewhat, and then removed the coconut it called for as well after Cass and Colleen expressed interest but complained, just a bit, about that one ingredient.

The real surprise is that when Ben came home one recent weekend – we get to see him fairly often, as he’s only a little over an hour away at Trine University – he liked them as well. The batch in the photo is what I made the girls for breakfast this morning. I’m quite sure they’re much healthier than any cereal on top of the fridge, even though I stopped buying “junk” cereals a long time ago.

Naturally sweetened oatmeal cookies

2 mashed bananas, mixed with 1 teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon

½ cup raisins

1 ¾ cup rolled oats

¼ cup chopped walnuts

Mix ingredients and form into cookies on greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees until you like the way they look, generally 8-10 minutes in our case.

(I haven’t posted a recipe in quite a while, so I’ll remind folks here that I don’t like to give baking times as ovens and personal taste vary from kitchen to kitchen. At our house, my husband prefers things in a state that seems almost burnt to me.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

