A kid’s point of view: Shattering my PR at Swiss Days 5K

By Colleen, age 13

I have a love/hate relationship with the annual Berne Swiss Days Race. On the one hand, it is part of my heritage as something my grandfather helped start 40-odd years ago. However, this race has always made me feel stressed out and pressured. I had only done the mile-long kids’ fun run for a few years, but even then I dreaded it. Last year, which would have been my first time doing the 5K version, a softball tournament conflicted and prevented my participation.

colleeninnyc

For some reason we didn’t get any photos taken at the race. Here I am during my recent school trip to NYC. It was amazing!

I signed up this year after much consideration. Based on past 5K attempts, I expected a subpar time of mid-50 minutes. However, at the start of the summer I began using a running app called Running For Weight Loss. It guides you through a run walk program that progresses gradually. Instead of fretting about my race strategy (like Mom and Aunt Traci were doing before the race, because they hadn’t done much training), I decided to just start another day of the workout and let my time sort itself out.

 

My result? I blew away my previous PR by ten minutes with a time of 45 minutes! I was ecstatic! For the first time in all my running endeavors, I truly felt I had gotten results and gotten faster! Maybe next month I’ll do another 5K and see if I can shatter my record again.

This entry was posted in running, running/fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A kid’s point of view: Shattering my PR at Swiss Days 5K

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Congratulations Colleen, keep it up, kid!

Leave a Reply

