Next up: Training for an indoor marathon

The check is in the mail: I’m signing up for the Maple Leaf Indoor Marathon.

Why, when I increasingly prefer running trails, am I committing to a race that will have me running 204 laps on an indoor track?

I’m craving a mental challenge. I didn’t do as much long distance running in 2015, and I miss the kind of interior adventures that take place on long runs.

maple leaf

That’s me on the right during the 2014 Maple Leaf Marathon.

The race is only 8 weeks away, and I’m not starting out in the best of shape. But looking over my training log from the 2014 race, it seems doable – especially since I had only seven weeks to prepare for that race, coming off a year in which my longest run was 10 miles. (It was really more like six weeks, because that winter’s polar vortex wiped out nearly the first week of training.)

This time around, I’m going to try the 4:1 run/walk method employed by several people who beat me in the 2014 race. Based on my experiments with that on shorter distances (five to 15 miles), it’s generated faster times with less leg stress.

I’m a little nervous contemplating this. But mostly excited. I can’t wait to revisit the memory palace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Next up: Training for an indoor marathon

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Good luck Tisch, I’ll be pulling for you.

  2. Noel Paine says:

    Done an indoor half before (1:30) that started as a full…but was square 150m indoor track and had bloody ankles aftre only half way. Good luck!

  3. OmniRunner says:

    In door marathon on a track sounds almost as bad as doing it on a treadmill. I imagine the field is smaller, but probably still crowded. But – no hills!
    Good luck, Andy

  4. tischcaylor says:

    Thanks, Andy. Probably the best thing about it is the personal connections you make with the other runners because the field is really small, as you say — about 30 runners usually. As a slow runner I’m still constantly in sight of the race leaders and admiring what they do (while staying out of their way.) I was the only first-time marathoner last time around, and the winner — who finished hours ahead of me –ran my last lap with me to offer encouragement.

Leave a Reply

