Holiday run streak takes ambitious turn

This year’s holiday run streak has been through a ridiculous number of plot twists.

First it was going to be an all-outdoor streak in which I ran at least 1 mile per day with our seventh-grader. This was a lot of fun while it lasted. Braving the elements was exhilarating, as was running after dark gawking at all the holiday lights.
4But after our 22-year-old brought home a husky on Day 8, Colleen started running with Loki rather than waiting to figure out a time when we could run together. Which was a good thing, because Loki needs as much exercise as we can offer him. For several days running with Loki became my primary holiday run streak activity as well – until my back got stiff and sore from him yanking on the leash all the time.

Then last week I started fretting about whether with my dwindling mileage I’d be able to finish even the 10-mile “fun run” segment of the HUFF. I did a 10-mile run/walk time trial in 2:09, which boosted my confidence – only to discover, when I went to register, that the race had been sold out!

This was a huge bummer, as I’d love to make the HUFF an annual holiday tradition. I actually spent several hours contemplating an attempt at the 50K, which still had several slots left, despite the fact that I hadn’t run more than 6 miles or so at a time in the past two months. (It’s mostly mental, right?)

Ultimately I decided against such foolishness and embarked on an alternative ridiculous scheme: A replay of the 90 miles in 9 days project my sister and I completed in 2011 to mark the one-year anniversary of my weight loss.

I’m in no shape to embark on such a project, so this time around I’m allowing myself to run-walk or just plain walk as many of those miles as needed. (It helps having a treadmill, because I can basically get in a run of any distance and then just fill in here and there when I have a few spare minutes the rest of the day. Oh yes, working from home is another huge asset here as well.)

Today marks Day Seven of this little project, and I’m a bit behind, with 50 miles logged and 40 to go over the next three days.

As for the Holiday Run Streak, my current total is 97.25.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

