Happy holiday run streak!

I was really bummed to miss the Galloping Gobbler yesterday, which is traditionally how I like to start my holiday run streak. It’s Fort Wayne’s version of a huge Thanksgiving Day parade, with 4,000+ runners, many of whom come in costume.

holidayrunstreakI hadn’t signed up, having spent my race budget allowance trying out last weekend’s Turkey Trot trail run, but I was hoping to photograph the race for the newspaper and run at least part of the course going from vantage point to vantage point. But the assignment was quashed by budgetary issues, and so Colleen and I went out before dawn yesterday for our own private Thanksgiving morning run closer to home.

It only takes a mile a day to complete the Holiday Run Streak, which makes it a great project for a beginning runner. Technically you’re supposed to do it every day from Thanksgiving to Christmas or New Year’s. But you could still start up today even if you missed yesterday.

And you can be creative with your run. Our oldest daughter texted that she got in her mile shortly before midnight by running in place while working third shift. In past years, I’ve sometimes started a 2-mile run a little before midnight and wound up getting two days’ credit on a single run.

Yesterday I jogged a mile with Colleen to get the streak started, then did some intervals on the treadmill while I was cooking. When I had pumpkin bread in the oven that looked like it needed to bake another 10 minutes or so, I’d go do 10 minutes on the treadmill at a 1 minute hard, 2 minutes easy pace.

I’m really looking forward to this, because I feel like my running has lacked focus lately. The holiday run streak isn’t really about training so much as fun. I always try to sneak in some “adventure” or offbeat runs to mix things up. There’s a little bit of that counting down to Christmas feel. And it’s a great way to make sure you’re getting in at least a little bit of a calorie burn each day.

gobblegobble

A scene from a past Galloping Gobbler, when it was much colder than it was yesterday. Alas, we did not get out our turkey hats this year.

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

