Getting paid to run a race

The official mascot of the River City Rat Race takes a water break at the halfway point of the 5k course.

The official mascot of the River City Rat Race takes a water break at the halfway point of the 5k course.

I love the River City Rat Race, with its gorgeous autumn views of all three Fort Wayne rivers, but it didn’t look like it was going to work out this year. Nobody was available to run it with me, I was bummed that I wasn’t in shape to try for a PR (at one point this was one of my age-group-win goals) and I wanted to save my race budget for an upcoming trail run.

Instead, I wound up shooting pictures of the race for the local afternoon paper. Which  meant that I made a few bucks instead of spending them, and wound up running the race in intervals. I’d shoot a few pictures, then run on ahead of the people I was trying to shoot, shoot some more pictures, then run some more. It was a weirdly interesting way to experience the race on a gorgeous fall day. (And even though I’m not much of a photographer, I figured I got more vantage points than the average cameraman who’d set up at just one or two spots along the course.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

