Does Adidas’ “Boost” technology last longer than other running shoes?

My Adidas Supernova Glide Boost as they looked back on April 15, 2014.

My Adidas Supernova Glide Boost as they looked back on April 15, 2014.

Do the Adidas Boost genre of running shoes last longer — or is it just me?

I’ve been intending to get a new pair of running shoes for a while, but as the frugal mom in a family of six I tend to prioritize spending on the kids’ needs ahead of my own. I wasn’t even sure how long I’ve had this pair of Glide Boost (or is it Boost Glide?), but it turns out I got them back on April 15, 2014.

Wish I could say for sure how many miles I’ve put on them since then. I’m not the world’s best record keeper when it comes to mileage. Usually I write it down in a little notebook, where I also track my eating (sort of). But I sometimes forget, and unless I’m doing some kind of special training project I very rarely tally up my mileage on even a weekly basis. But my typical pattern is to run 4-5 times a week, at least 4 miles and sometimes 6, with one longer run of 7-10 miles.

This isn’t the only pair of shoes I’ve run in over the past year and a half. I’d been wearing a pair of much older shoes for trail running up until recently, when the screws I’d inserted for better traction began to poke through and jab my feet. (Note: Despite last week’s snake phobia flare-up, due to the appearance of pythons in the area, I got back out on the trail on Friday. Great run, gorgeous fall day, extremely glad my sister drug me back out there.)  

So anyway, no, I can’t give an accurate guess on what kind of mileage these guys have on them, other than I think it’s safe to say “much more than what is commonly recommended”.

The main difference is that unlike past over-the-hill shoes, I haven’t really noticed any foot or shin problems alerting me that it’s time to get a new pair. I just finally got a check in the mail that I’d budgeted for running shoes, so it’s time to start looking again.

Googling Adidas Boost lifespan, I did come up with one blogger asserting that “Boost midsoles boast a longer lifespan.” This runner suggested you could get 150-300 more miles with Boost, and that he could “personally attest” to that. But then he also gets free test shoes from Adidas, so it’s hard to believe he’s giving an unbiased review.

I wouldn’t be sad to get another pair of Boosts, and I’m willing to spend the extra $30 or so to get them. (I think.) But I’m also intrigued by New Balance — both the Fresh Foam technology and the “made in America” angle, though I haven’t researched that enough to know whether all or just some of their shoes can legitimately make that claim.

So: Let the search begin. Maybe I’ll actually get around to buying a new pair of shoes before the end of the year, who knows?

... And those same shoes as they appear today.

… And those same shoes as they appear today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Does Adidas’ “Boost” technology last longer than other running shoes?

  1. OmniRunner says:

    I never keep track of my shoe miles either. When they look worn out or I start to have issues I know it’s time to change.
    The last I checked only some New Balance shoes are made in the USA. They are made in Lawrence, MA which is one of the original American Industrial cities. It’s about 50 miles from my house and I like the idea of supporting local workers.

    • tischcaylor says:

      That’s cool. It would be fun to take a field trip there and see the shoes being made. Now I’ll have to look that up and see which shoe models they make, because though I tried on a couple of pairs the other day, I still haven’t bought any.

      • OmniRunner says:

        I think they still have the factory sales once or twice a year. I went to one in Lawrence a long time ago.
        Back then you dug through bins to find shoes, it was a real factory sales.
        Now the “factory” stores are like real retail shops and they just have big sales.
        They have the sales in Brighton and Lawrence. It’s usually a big ad in The Globe.

  2. Cees de Regt says:

    I have the same findings related to a pair of Adidas Response Boost 1.

    I have had them for just over a year now. I mix road running and trail running, and for each I use different pairs of shoes (so normally swap between four pairs). I keep track of my kilometers (via Suunto Movescount), but I have not kept a record of which pair of shoes I have worn for particular runs. But my best guess is that I have done well over 1000 km (600 miles) with the Response Boost shoes. The soles still look okay, though some wear has occurred on the soles. More importantly, no aches in shins or knees, so I think the Boost material is performing very well. I must say, I always tend to do more miles/kilometers in shoes than the norm…. But this is well above my expectations.

    Still, it’s probably time to look for a new pair of shoes – which will boast Boost material! I also have a pair of Boost Adios 2, and these also perform well – though I have done nearly as much kilometers on those.

Leave a Reply

