Time to break out the weight-loss tools

It’s time to drop a few pounds. Which means it’s time to break out the long-view lens.

I first wrote about this weight-loss tool back in 2012, when I was still trying to figure out all the little details that had come together to help me peel off 90 pounds in nine months. So that I’d have these tools available to use again, if needed.

scale

This is obviously just an illustration. It in no way reflects my actual weight, either before or after weight loss.

I’m a deadline-oriented person, and so whenever I want to get anything accomplished I need to not just fix on a random point in the future, but on something that feels real and tangible. In this case, I’m setting my long-view lens on a peanut butter shake from Ivanhoe’s on Oct. 10, when we’re going to watch my nephew’s football game at Taylor University in Upland, Ind.

Between now and then I need to lock in some fuel limitations. I’m going with the Slow Carb Diet, which worked out pretty well for me last fall. I’m not a big meat fan, but I figure I’ll use this opportunity to experiment with some homemade veggie burgers that are a good mix of protein and slow-burning carbs.

For me, just using the term “long-view lens” activates a positive memory, one of the many turning points from a life of zero-impulse control, at least when it came to food, to one in which I closely monitor diet and exercise. In the original blog post, I was thrilled to recognize that just because everybody else wanted to stop for ice cream after a baseball game in another town, I could hold out – because I knew we were coming back the next week, and I’d be in a better position to get ice cream then.

sevenevesEvery time I use it, my long-view lens gets stronger. And it’s even more powerful now, after reading Neal Stephenson’s Seveneves. Going without sugary treats for 10 days or so is nothing compared with the problems faced in that novel, where the characters must figure out how to preserve humanity’s future during a 5,000 year period during which the Earth will be uninhabitable. (I know, that’s not the sort of premise that would usually draw me to a novel, either. Depressing topic. But I’ve read enough Stephenson by now to have faith that it would blow my mind, if I skip over the geeky technological descriptions, and it did not disappoint.)

There was a time I thought running was the only weight-loss tool I need. Wrong. I proved that one over and over the last few years. Running does allow me to eat far more than a 50-year-old woman ought to be able to get away with, with only a very slow creep upward. But weight creep eventually adds up, and it’s got to be dealt with every so often.

Now is the time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time to break out the weight-loss tools

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Good luck Tisch. I can appreciate that long-view lens approach. I use the same principle. Different label, but the same idea.

  2. I’ve never heard of the concept of long view lens before… but I’m going to start using it. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

