A kid’s point of view: Stereotyping in sports

“I can’t tell from looking at anyone if they can do it or not. Mental strength cannot be underestimated, and physical strength can be overestimated. The miles will sort it all out.”

— Joe Prusaitis, director of the Rocky Raccoon 100 in Huntsville, Texas.

By Colleen, age 12

FullSizeRender (2)Looking at me, I’m not sure someone would think of me as a serious athlete. But I prove them wrong over and over again. For example, last year in PE, at the beginning of middle school, I wasn’t heavily favored when it was time to pick teams. But as we played more and more, I have started to become one of the first people picked almost every time — even by the boys. I am not the fastest runner but I make up for it with skill and determination.

My mom showed me this article in Runner’s World that had the quote up above. It was talking about 100 mile races and how you can’t tell who will finish the race just by how they look. It’s all mental toughness.

It seems like I’ve built up mental toughness just from trying to keep up with the other kids my whole life. Sometimes I can use that to my advantage.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A kid’s point of view: Stereotyping in sports

  1. bgddyjim says:

    You can always use it to your advantage. Worrying about stereotypes is for the weak people who would rather use that as an excuse than admit they’re lazy. We strong people just do what we do and let the rest work out in the laundry. Always remember that, you’ll lead a happier life.

Leave a Reply

