Confession time…

2-year-old Kyla nd 1-year-old Kobi help my brother Brent get his plank in.

2-year-old Kyla nd 1-year-old Kobi help my brother Brent get his plank in.

So my sister and I were out for a run the last day of August when I suggested we start a family plank challenge for September.

“Let’s make it REALLY easy,” I suggested, “so that it’s not intimidating and more people do it.”

As the family drill sergeant, Traci became the designated coach, texting daily orders. Day One: A single 10-second plank. It was so doable that just about all the grownups got  on board. The only problem: Because this plank challenge isn’t really much of a challenge, I’ve been forgetting to do it!

Traci’s text yesterday encouraged all of us who’d skipped a day or five to make up what we’d missed as we move to two 15-second planks every day this week. Finally I’m now up to speed on my own idea, and building some enthusiasm. Unlike some monthly challenges earlier in the year, where the goal was to nail a 5-minute wall sit or plank at the end, all I want out of this is continuity. Building a habit.

And the more of us who participate, the easier that will be.

Kyla helps my sister-in-law Darcy with her plank the other day.

Kyla helps my sister-in-law Darcy with her plank the other day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

