A kid’s point of view: My longest bike ride ever!

By Colleen, age 12

Riding a bike 16 miles from my house to Grandma and Grandpa’s was not easy. My quads were screaming in fiery pain, begging me to stop. I had already rode 12 miles, so I knew I had to keep going. All I had to do was envision my grandma’s house and how close I was to it. But those last four miles were the hardest I have ever ridden.

With most of the route being on highways 224 and 301, I also had to watch out for traffic. The only way I got through that ride was mental toughness. It was the farthest I’ve ever gone, and I like to think it is a gateway to serious cycling.

It is also the same distance as the Tour de Donut, which is just one week from tomorrow. It won’t be easy, but I think I’m ready.

Taking a water break on the Vera Cruz bridge over the Wabash River. The old bridge from when my mom was a kid is behind us.

Taking a water break on the Vera Cruz bridge over the Wabash River. The old bridge from when my mom was a kid is behind us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A kid’s point of view: My longest bike ride ever!

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Keep it up Colleen… You’ll be up to 40 or 50 miles before you know it (or as much as your mom will let you go), trust me.

    It’s hard to get there but once you do, 50 miles seems, well, too short. I did 106 yesterday, we’ve got 89 today, 105 tomorrow and 80 on Sunday… Keep pedaling kiddo, best activity in the world!

    • tischcaylor says:

      Colleen responds: “Wow, I’m not sure I want to get up to that point — it sound pretty grueling! Thanks for the support, though — it’s always nice to have a bike expert cheering me on.”

Leave a Reply

