Offbeat triathlon game cures lazy-butt syndrome

Recently a friend posted on Facebook, “If I rode my bike, mowed the lawn, and then walked, does that count as a triathlon?”

It was a joke, obviously. But it got me thinking about how sedentary some days can turn out to be once you subtract the daily workout.

Sharing a car with my 17-year-old son the last few months has added some extra biking into the mix. Reading Melissa’s post made me think about adding some yardwork on those days when I bike home from a run.

Sometimes I avoid doing yardwork because I don’t want to get sweaty and dirty. If I’m already in need of a shower, that roadblock is erased. All I need to do is switch out of my running shoes, top off my fluid levels, and I’m good to go.

One day I caught a ride into town with my son, met my sister for a 30-20-10 workout on Bluffton’s River Greenway, rode my bike home (it’s about 10 miles since I avoid the most direct route due to traffic), then spent half an hour or so picking up sticks and pulling weeds.

Friday morning I dropped the car off at school after running some errands and ran home. I was planning to catch a ride back into town that afternoon with Ben, but he forgot to stop by the house on his way to work. So Colleen and I wound up biking into town so we could help our oldest daughter move out of a house she’d been renting.

So that day’s “triathlon” totals were: 3.5 mile run, 12-mile bike ride, one hour of physical labor toting boxes and furniture.

I don’t play this game every day, but it’s kinda fun when it occurs to me. I’m also hoping it helps me keep up with the leaf raking this fall.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

