A kid’s point of view: ‘A Sense of Where You Are’

By Colleen, age 12

bradleyI recently read a book detailing Bill Bradley’s rise to fame as a legendary basketball player. It’s called A Sense Of Where You Are by John McPhee. What fascinates me most about Bradley’s style is the focused practice he did. Instead of just wanting to scrimmage and shoot around like most players, Bradley did the same shots over and over again until he perfected them. He even practiced dribbling wearing special glasses so he couldn’t look down and see the ball! Reading about Bill Bradley was really inspiring, not just for basketball but all my sports.

On a different note, I finally got a new softball bat! It’s a Demarini Uprising. I did pretty well my first game with it, hitting a line drive down the right field line. (I also got three walks because I didn’t get hardly any decent pitches to hit.)

This weekend we will be playing in a tournament in Grabill. I really love these days where I get to play 2, 3, even four games! I’m so excited!

Here is a video my dad shot of our team escaping from a recent rain storm. This week we have had nice sunny days for the first time all summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A kid’s point of view: ‘A Sense of Where You Are’

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Good luck, hit ’em hard!

Leave a Reply

