A kid’s point of view: New shoes for 4th of July race!

My new Saucony Grid Liberate shoes. They already have one run on them and many more to go.

My new Saucony Grid Liberate shoes. They already have one run on them and many more to go.

By Colleen, age 12

Tomorrow is the annual Loon Lake 4th of July 5.5k race. The course is a hilly loop around Loon Lake. I went up there to train on Thursday, not remembering how many hills there were. I was able to run two full miles before a pain in my leg forced me to start walking. I eventually stopped when Mom and Aunt Traci came to check on me in my cousins’ grandma’s golf cart after their run. My leg still kind of hurts, but I am confident I can complete the race tomorrow.

Before going to Loon Lake, Mom and I went to Dick’s to get me new running shoes. My old cross country shoes had gotten pretty beat up. I forgot what it was like to run in shoes that still had the fabric attached!

Can’t wait til tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A kid’s point of view: New shoes for 4th of July race!

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Good luck kiddo! Hopefully that pain is just you getting used to the new shoes. Be careful with it though. If it gets too bad, let your mom know where (exactly) and how it hurts. She’s been running long enough she probably knows what’s up… It might even be the new shoes.

Leave a Reply

