A kid’s point of view: Awards day!

By Colleen, age 12

colleenxcselfieSchool is finally almost over! Yesterday was awards day. I received awards for band participation, athletics participation, a little medallion for earning distinction (straight A’s) for the entire year, and Outstanding Performance in Composition for the sixth grade Blue Team.

I think I will shut up about my awards now.

Monday is our last day of school and we will be having field day: carnival games, kickball and lots of other awesome stuff. I THINK I HAVE NEVER BEEN MORE EXCITED ABOUT SCHOOL! Also, for the first time in history, I can’t wait for Monday to come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A kid’s point of view: Awards day!

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Congratulations Colleen! Keep it up!

    • tischcaylor says:

      Colleen responds: “I still can’t believe somebody like him reads MY posts.” Mom: “Don’t forgot to say thanks.” Colleen: “Oh, right. Thanks!”

      • bgddyjim says:

        He responds, through mom: “Colleen, you seem like a really good kid. I have a daughter your age too and your mom always reads posts about my girls and comments kindly on them as well. Being a kid and getting into fitness early is so incredibly important when you get older (it becomes a lot tougher to get started when you’re old) so I support what you’re trying to do. My daughters had a special old guy in their lives who supported their learning to swim. While I ran 10k’s and half-marathons with my friends, at his house, he’d take my girls swimming at a local pool and then out to lunch. Today they’re both on a travel swim team… A little bit of support goes a long way. Finally, to wrap this all up, your mom, when I was just a young blogger asked to interview me for her blog and that meant a lot to me.

        Given all of this, I wouldn’t miss one of your posts – not on purpose, kiddo. We, your mom and I, support kids (especially ours) getting active and fit. So keep it up Colleen.”

        Jim

      • tischcaylor says:

        I love reading about your daughters’ swim team accomplishments and their cycling forays, too. I’m especially envious of how your family’s hobbies and fitness interests all flow together in a way that makes it easier to make cool things happen. … Colleen didn’t have a lot to say after she read your response here, but it sure made her feel good. She also thought it was cool you have a daughter her age — I don’t think she realized that. Colleen’s more fitness challenged than your kids, but she loves trying and she loves sports and she loves encouragement, so … thanks!

      • bgddyjim says:

        It is my pleasure, and I shall keep it up. I’m please let her know that being fitness challenged just means she has to work a little harder at understanding how the sports she likes work. Enough practice And dedication and even the biggest klutz can be fantastic. Have her read my post that comes out later this morning…

  2. Gpa says:

    Just another day at the office for you Colleen. You have always been a very good student!!!!!

Leave a Reply

