A kid’s point of view: 1st middle school soccer game

By Colleen, age 12

My soccer game on Wednesday was really fun. We won 1-0 against the Navy team in an academy game. I mainly played forward, which I am better at than defense or midfield. Forwards focus mainly on shooting and passing rather than reading the ball. You don’t “kick” the ball in soccer — you pass it or shoot it!

This is a picture from cross country. I don't have a soccer picture yet.

This is a picture from cross country. I don’t have a soccer picture yet.

This was my first time playing on the big high school field where my big sister Rowan used to play. I wasn’t as out of shape as I thought I would be, but I need to get faster. We even wore the old high school jerseys.  When Rowan was home over the weekend and saw my jersey, she said “That’s Mary’s old jersey.” Mary is her best friend from high school.

This week softball practice also started. I guess I like “F” positions in sports: Forward in soccer and basketball, first base in softball. It sure feels great to be playing outside again. The grass is finally even turning green. I am excited for more soccer games and for the softball games to start. Play ball!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

