Voting Oreos off my island

In late 2011 I went through a major “editing” phase with my diet.

I edited out foods in groups of three, and in some cases I did a reverse-editing maneuver  — based on the old “what would you take to a desert island” scenario – in which I ditched everything except for the top three keepers in a particular category.

oreosWhen it came to stocking my imaginary island with sandwich cookies, I settled on Oreos, Nutter Butters and Maple Leaf cookies. That vastly simplified my life, because while you could still do plenty of damage with those three things in your dietary universe, it eliminates a whole lot of temptation from consideration.

A little over three years later, I’m now ready to drop Oreos from that list.

Other than as an ice cream mix-in, they’re just not that good. The chocolate isn’t very chocolatey; the creamy part isn’t very creamy. Unlike Nutter Butters and Maple Leafs, they don’t have a very interesting shape. About the only thing they have going for them, as a relic of the industrial age, is their pop culture status as an icon.

Oreos are everywhere these days. Apparently there’s some kind of movement afoot to inspire various things you can make with them – probably because the company realizes they’re just not that appealing on their own, as a simple cookie. But they’re not going in my grocery cart anymore, no matter how many coupons appear in my Sunday paper.

The dessert cart on my desert island just got a little more exclusive.

These guys are still a part of my life, however. Don't you just love their cute Maple Leaf shape?

These guys are still a part of my life, however. Don’t you just love their cute Maple Leaf shape?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Voting Oreos off my island

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Oreos, not appealing on their own?! Bite your tongue there lady! We get Oreos maybe twice a year and they are absolutely heavenly. I may get weepy…

    • tischcaylor says:

      If you only have them twice a year, you deserve to enjoy them. My problem with Oreos is because they don’t taste overwhelmingly good (to me) yet still feel like something decadent, I keep eating them way past the serving size in search of some elusive satisfaction. But that’s just me.:)

      • bgddyjim says:

        I got that… I was trying to be tongue-in-cheek snarky – and may have failed to convey that. I LOVE Oreos and left to the addict in me, I’d have been right with you. I love how they taste, to a point they are one of the few snacks I can eat a whole package and wish there were more (thus the reason we only get them a couple of times a year).

  2. I used to eat the maple leaf cookies when I gave blood. They don’t have them at the Red Cross blood center anymore, so I haven’t had one in years (probably at least 5). Oreos seem to enter our house from time to time.

Leave a Reply

