Sealing off weekend transgressions

This past Sunday was a dietary disaster – not just for me, but for several family members as well. My brother and his family were visiting from Indy and Mom planned a big feast of family favorites. Even my dad — whose eating habits I’ve studied closely in my attempts to learn to eat “like a normal person” — was overdoing it, plowing through three heaping servings of corn and mashed potatoes. (Maybe that was what led him to launch another family weight loss contest.)

Nice as it was to see everyone, I was relieved when Monday came because my built-in eating routine on those days acts as an automatic boundary that seals off any weekend indulgences from the rest of my life.

In my fat days, I started many a diet on Mondays, vowing to meet some impossible dietary standard without any real hope of success. Rarely did I have an actual plan in place, much less the supplies needed to carry it out. With nothing but a flimsy wish to “do better,” it usually took me several days just to find the “off” switch after a big weekend of feasting – and by then it would be the weekend again.

But I don’t think about dieting on Mondays now. I don’t have to think about what I’m going to eat at all, because I already know.

It’s stuff I like, in quantities that satisfy me. And yet I know – having already worked it out ahead of time – that the day’s overall calorie consumption will work in my favor.

(If you really want to know what I eat on Mondays, check out “Setting up a dietary routine to help you notice extra food,” which is another benefit of having a specific menu template for at least some days of the week.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

