4 years of blogging — and I still haven’t figured it out

 

I got a little message yesterday reminding me that it’s been four years since the creation of this blog.

In a way, it’s kind of embarrassing. Don’t I have anything better to do? With four kids and three part-time jobs, it’s not like I have too much time on my hands.

It used to be interesting to see how many people stopped by, and from what part of the planet. But I stopped paying attention to blog stats a long time ago, which is why I’d forgotten it was anniversary time.

The idea back on Jan. 19, 2011 was to try to figure out what to tell people when they asked the inevitable question, “So how’d you lose all that weight, anyway?” “Diet and exercise” seemed like an insufficient, almost smart-alecky response, even if it was the simplest and most accurate version of the truth.

“Weight Watchers and jogging” provided a bit more specificity, but I knew there were dozens of changes large and small in my thinking and behavior that had ultimately made the difference, and I was determined to figure those out – partly to help others who were genuinely looking for answers but also to construct a road map for myself. So that if I ever got lost again, I could find my way back.

That led to a series of interviews with people I considered to be naturally thin, to see if I could learn whatever it was they did to avoid weight gain. (I’ve been revisiting this topic lately, here and here.)

In the years since I’ve managed to adopt some of those habits, while I’m still working on others. I still like to ask people why and how they eat the way they do, though I’d like to think I don’t pester them quite as much as I used to.

And along the way I’ve continued to explore my love of running, which has lately gotten me hooked on trails – the more rustic, the better.

At the most basic level, this blog keeps me focused on health and fitness. Letting up now doesn’t seem like a great idea, especially since I recently turned 50.

But the biggest reason I’m still writing is that, like Jake Epping in Stephen King’s 11/22/63, I’m “one of those people who never knows what (she’s) thinking until (she) writes it down.”

This blog keeps me sane. It keeps my head from exploding. And if I happen to occasionally write about something that interests even one other person besides myself, then that’s cool, too.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 4 years of blogging — and I still haven’t figured it out

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Excellent post, and happy anniversary!

  2. You were my 1st and maybe my best blog friend. I love that you keep it going and that Colleen is a part if it too! :). Xo

  3. golddh says:

    Happy anniversary! Great writing and great content. Keep it up.

  4. tischcaylor says:

    I’m flattered to hear that — not a word I’ve ever used in real life, but I can’t think of a better one. And Colleen will be thrilled. Thanks, Elizabeth.

Leave a Reply

