My Top 5 favorite new foods of 2014

Ben's Brussels sprouts with bacon and blue cheese

Ben’s Brussels sprouts with bacon and blue cheese

I like to compile this list to see how my tastes are changing over time. Back before I lost weight, every nominee would’ve been some kind of sugary treat, with the possible exception of some new version of pizza.

Though three of the five finalists on this year’s list are in fact desserts, only one of them contains any actual sugar. Here’s what I came up with, in no particular order:

1. Bacon blue cheese Brussels sprouts. You could argue that just about anything topped with bacon and blue cheese would taste awesome. Even so, this recipe from a former co-worker who’s a tremendous gourmet cook was absolutely amazing.

2. Fresh raspberries topped with feta cheese and walnuts. Is this a dessert? Breakfast? A salad? Who cares – it’s a great combination of sweet and salty and it’s incredibly satisfying.

chocolate ice bean is made with cashews, dates, black beans, chocolate and a couple of other ingredients, but no sugar.

chocolate ice bean is made with cashews, dates, black beans, chocolate and a couple of other ingredients, but no sugar.

3. Chocolate ice bean. I would take this over ice cream any day of the week, provided I could get someone to make it up for me. (I’m not a very patient smoothie maker.)

4. Would I really opt for a cabbage and pepperoni wrap over a slice of pizza? Hard to say. But the wrap I had last Jan. 3, using up some surprisingly tasty New Year’s cabbage, was so startlingly good I had to put it on the list.

5. Finally, I feel compelled to include Ben’s deep-dish Dutch apple pie, not just to represent the sugar bomb category but because it’s a sign that he’s becoming a truly tremendous cook who can prepare an intoxicating dessert from pantry staples. (We almost always have apples on hand.) The crusts on his Christmas Eve pies were as flaky as any I’ve ever had, including those made by my grandmothers.

Definitely planning to cook up some cabbage for New Year's Day.

Definitely planning to cook up some cabbage for New Year’s Day.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

