Just go run (if you want to have fun)

 

Looking down at the lobby of the Charley Creek Inn in Wabash, Ind.

Looking down at the lobby of the Charley Creek Inn in Wabash, Ind.

I’m on a mission to deactivate all the unnecessary stress in my life, and one of the silliest examples is how much effort I can put into overthinking something as simple as where to run when I’m out of town.

In general, I prefer knowing where I’m running – how many miles, how long it’s likely to take, if there are obstacles I need to be aware of.

But the whole point of being on a weekend getaway is exploring. So when Bob and I went to the historic Charley Creek Inn in Wabash, Ind.,  for my 50th birthday this weekend, I decided to quit fretting and Just. Go. Run.

A reconstruction of the sheds where an 1826 treaty camp was set up to negotiate more land from the Potawatomi and Miami tribes.

A reconstruction of the sheds where an 1826 treaty camp was set up to negotiate more land from the Potawatomi and Miami tribes.

As in, out the door, past the wine and cheese shop and the general store named after a 1940s circus elephant that went rampaging through town, turning this way or that to avoid traffic or the wind or a humongous hill or because something catches my eye, like the rows of wooden sheds that reconstruct the 1826 treaty camp at Paradise Spring.

I have no idea how far I ran, and for once, I don’t care. One week out from a 50K trail run, I was just exploring. Having fun. Need to be doing more of that if I want to make my 50s the happiest decade of my life, which is what both my husband and The Atlantic magazine report to be true.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

