A kid’s point of view: Foot doctor frustrations + Christmas fun

My cousin Garrett is playing in the NCAA Division III National Football Championship today in Daytona, Fla. He broke his thumb in the last game and has a special athletic cast so he can still play even though he had to have surgery and get screws put in. As for sixth grade athletes like me, I couldn't even get to see the doctor -- the podiatrist wouldn't see me because I didn't have the right kind of insurance!

My cousin Garrett is playing in the NCAA Division III National Football Championship today in Daytona, Fla. He broke his thumb in the last game and has a special athletic cast so he can still play even though he had to have surgery and get screws put in. As for sixth grade athletes like me, I couldn’t even get to see the doctor — the podiatrist wouldn’t see me because I didn’t have the right kind of insurance!

By Colleen, age 12

So yesterday I went to Fort Wayne Orthopedics to get my foot looked at, but get this: I never got to see the doctor because he doesn’t take our insurance!  And this is the same office where we were last time when they scheduled the appointment! Isn’t that weird? Boy, was I mad!

Check out the awesome Santa hat I got at the Blue Team auction. It cost me $60 Blue Bucks. (We earn Blue Bucks for stuff we do at school).

Check out the awesome Santa hat I got at the Blue Team auction. It cost me $60 Blue Bucks. (We earn Blue Bucks for stuff we do at school).

Everybody was really apologetic and rescheduled me for Tuesday, with a different doctor who will take our insurance. But I was REALLY hoping to work out last night and now I have to wait until Tuesday. Grrrr!!!!! At least I haven’t gained any weight during the past two weeks, but I haven’t lost any, either — and just one week til our weight-loss contest is over.

We are having an awesome party at school today called the Blue Bash. (I am on the Blue team in the sixth grade. There is also a Gold Team.) After school we are going to watch my cousin Garrett play for the NCAA Division III National Football Championship in Daytona, Fla.

Grandma and Grandpa and Garrett’s family drove down for the game. I wish we could’ve gone but we had final exams, so we will watch it on TV. The bummer is that Garrett broke his thumb in the last game and we don’t know how much he will get to play. Hopefully a lot because he got an interception AFTER he broke his thumb. Man, he is tough!

Do you realize that by the time of my next blog post Christmas will be over? Seems kinda crazy that it’s almost here already, but Christmas Break here I come! Merry Christmas, everybody!

Some of my friends and I at the Beef and Boards production of "A Christmas Carol" last Friday in Indy.

Some of my friends and I at the Beef and Boards production of “A Christmas Carol” last Friday in Indy.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

