Old running shoes get a duct-tape makeover

ductshoes2The cover story: I’ve been reading on some other blogs how some runners duct-tape their shoes in rainy/snowy weather to give them a few extra miles before they get completely soaked. There’s a 20 percent chance of snow forecast for Saturday’s Huff 50K, and it rained earlier in the week, so it doesn’t hurt to be prepared…

The reality: I’m too cheap to buy a new pair of shoes, so I’m just giving makeovers to a couple of older models.

These holes shouldn't be a problem once I apply some duct tape.

These holes shouldn’t be a problem once I apply some duct tape.

The Saucony Kinvara 3s pictured above were so worn out this time last year they were giving me shin splints. But it turns out they don’t bother me at all running on trails. In fact, I kinda like their lightweight feel and snug fit; makes me feel a bit more surefooted out amongst the roots and rocks, especially since I added some screws to the soles for extra grip. Heck, these guys are practically as good as new.

Next up: My Saucony Kinvara 2s, a year older with several hundred more miles on them. But they’ve gotten new life thanks to an insole transplant, and once I patch up the holes on the uppers and add some screws to the bottom, they’ll be all set!

Now this pair could be a challenge -- but I'm not ready to give up on them yet! (Step one:  Toss in the washer.)

Now this pair could be a challenge — but I’m not ready to give up on them yet! (Step one: Toss in the washer, after first removing the transplanted insoles.)

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old running shoes get a duct-tape makeover

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I can’t even believe those things. That’s gnarly.

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Well, that last pic was taken after an exceptionally muddy run. Although you wouldn’t be wrong to refer to the makeover shoes as “gnarly,” either …. LOL.

Leave a Reply

