Bring on the holiday run streak!

The last couple of years I’ve kicked off the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak at the Galloping Gobbler in Fort Wayne, which remains one of my favorite races for its sheer goofiness and holiday cheer.

I was pretty happy with how this race worked out because I went slow enough to avoid that running-induced rhinitis problem but still came in just under a 10-minute per mile pace. It was great to not be blowing my nose all through Thanksgiving dinner!

I was pretty happy with how this race worked out because I went slow enough to avoid that running-induced rhinitis problem but still came in just under a 10-minute per mile pace. It was great to not be blowing my nose all through Thanksgiving dinner!

This year we tried the Turkey Trot in Huntington, in part because Colleen wanted a shorter race (5K vs. 4 miles) with a long sleeved tech shirt and McDonald’s postrace snacks. (By the time we got done last year there was only water and plastic-wrapped store cookies left.)

It was just as cold this year as it was last Thanksgiving, but with the smaller town’s smaller crowd we did get to park much closer. (Not that it mattered to Colleen, who’d developed a foot problem and spent the race bundled up in winter clothes.) In terms of the course, I’m kind of torn: I like them both a lot. The Gobbler goes through a cool old cemetery, while the Trot winds through the Huntington University campus. Both have their share of hills, but nothing too taxing. The Gobbler has a much more festive atmosphere, however.

It was fun to get this year’s holiday run streak underway, though I’m bummed that Colleen isn’t going to be able to do it with me. On Friday my sister and I did a 17-mile trail run in anticipation of the upcoming Huff 50K. Then on Saturday we had friends over and I didn’t get in a run until 11 p.m., so I just did a mile looping around the downtown in Ossian. Sunday’s run was another quick mile in the neighborhood before a family birthday party.

That puts me at 22 miles for the first four days of the run streak, which starts on Thanksgiving and ends on New Year’s Day. If you’ve never tried the streak, I highly recommend it as a feel-good way to get through the holidays. And it’s not too late to get started, you know — just double up on a couple of days so you that you wind up with one run per calendar day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bring on the holiday run streak!

  1. ignace_s says:

    A running streak seems nice, but isn’t resting equally import? Especially if you have a 50k coming up?

Leave a Reply

