Reflections on infinite pie for Thanksgiving

An infinite pie slice from Christmas 2011. (Not much pie on this plate, but plenty of carbs.)

An infinite pie slice from Christmas 2011. (Not much pie on this plate, but plenty of carbs.)

Funny how after four months of weekly cheat days with some truly stupendous pigouts, I’m now looking forward to a gentle, mindful meal tomorrow afternoon.

I want to savor tastes and smells. To tune in to gratitude. I don’t want a bloated gut or mind.

And so when it comes time for dessert, I think I’ll have a slice of infinite pie.

This is a trick from my early diet days, when I’d mentally draw a slice of pie on a plate and fill it in with as many different kinds of dessert as I could fit. In theory, I could get an infinite number of pie slivers in that space, so long as they were small enough.

I’d really pack it in: cookie fragments and peanut M&Ms filling the gaps between thin slices of three or even four kinds of pie. Because I still felt powerless in the presence of sugar and carbs, unable to resist dwelling on them even if I managed to avoid eating them.

Of all the things that feel precious and scarce to me, I can’t say that about food anymore. I’ve got another cheat day coming up soon, several more before the holidays are over, and there’s nothing I really want that isn’t easily attainable.

Knowing my difficulty with making decisions, though, I may have trouble choosing just one kind of pie for Thanksgiving dinner. So I’ll remember to take out my infinite pie slice. But I hope that instead of making it with greed, I’ll do so with the reverence that Thanksgiving – and infinity – deserve.

Happy Thanksgiving!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections on infinite pie for Thanksgiving

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Tisch.

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Thanks. Enjoy yours as well.

Leave a Reply

