Nothing like running a bloody trail through snowy woods …

Dear Hunters:

It is not cool to leave fresh mounds of deer guts right smack in the middle of a state park trail. Believe it or not, people do use these trails even in the winter, and it’s hard enough to slog through snow masking roots and rocks without having to step around your grisly handiwork not once but TWICE.

It’s creepy to follow a blood trail through the woods, but at least that I can understand, given that Ouabache State Park was closed for a “deer thinning” hunt the previous two days. What I can’t fathom is why you think it’s acceptable to gut your prey and dump its innards on a public path – albeit a rather primitive one — just so you have a little less to carry on your way out. Besides, judging from the tracks you left in the snow, you were pulling some kind of cart. Was it so full that you couldn’t carry your trash out with you?

I’m glad we avoided falling on a day I thought all that ice and snow might make it  inevitable; I would’ve hated to land in all that red goo.

On the plus side: In my rage over your inexcusable behavior, I momentarily forgot that my wet toes had turned into what felt like little 16-degree chunks of ice that might break off if jostled too hard. For that, I guess, I ought to thank you. But somehow I don’t think I will.

Sincerely,

The joggers who share your trail

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nothing like running a bloody trail through snowy woods …

  1. bgddyjim says:

    This is seriously bad form on the part of whoever left the guts out. I bury them. You’re right to be mad.

    • tischcaylor says:

      I dunno, maybe you could do this out in the woods. But in the middle of a trail inside a state park … Good for you for going the extra mile and burying the guts.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Even in a State park. You drag the deer a couple of yards off the trail and get to work. We carry one of those foldable shovels, dig the hole before the “cleaning”, perform a Wisconsin walkout right into the hole. Takes five extra minutes and except for the blood, you’d never know. Leaving the guts out is bad form. I hunt a mile from camp, so I walk back, gather my stuff, walk all the way back, then tend to it. It’s the right thing to do.

  2. Chatter says:

    Ewwww. That is wrong on so many levels and just down right inconsiderate.

    • tischcaylor says:

      I’d like to think this idiot (pural?) was the rare exception. Wish there was a way to know who it was so they might be able to keep this person (persons?) out of future hunts there.

Leave a Reply

