A kid’s point of view: River City Rat Race!

One of the costumes people wore in the race.

One of the costumes people wore in the race.

By Colleen, age 12

Mom and Ben and I after the race outside the Old Fort.

Mom and Ben and I after the race outside the Old Fort.

On Sunday me and Mom and Ben ran the River City Rat Race. It was definitely cool because there were lots of people dressed up in costumes. Another cool thing about that race was that it finished in the Old Fort. My techy favorite thing was that they had a quadercopter drone with a camera videotaping the crowd.

My time was 46:38, which wasn’t as fast as I hoped but was still a HUGE improvement over my previous 5K time of 58 minutes and something.

Another funny thing was there was a Color Guard from the Old Fort doing the Pledge of Allegience before the race and then those guys ran the race in their historic soldier’s uniforms and carried the flag. That had to be heavy!

This was an awesome race and the weather was perfect. The shirts were also pretty cool. The only bad thing was, the pavement hurt my legs because I am used to running on grass and trails from cross country. I am now completely staying on trails!

Halloween update: Here’s my awesome trick-or-treating costume from Friday.

My friend Olivia and I went trick-or-treating in the cold  rain and snow on Halloween. She was an awesome Darla from  "Finding Nemo" and I went as "Old Glory." (One person whose house we went to said I was Miss America! Isn't that hilarious!)

My friend Olivia and I went trick-or-treating in the cold rain and snow on Halloween. She was an awesome Darla from “Finding Nemo” and I went as “Old Glory.” (One person whose house we went to said I was Miss America! Isn’t that hilarious!)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

