Crapload of cashews = 2.4 pound weight loss

I used to think cashews were off limits because they’re so high fat and I could never keep from eating several handfuls once I started in.

Now cashews are my go-to Monday treat food.  I literally ate half a pound of them for lunch this past Monday, followed up by 2 ounces of cheddar cheese. The next morning, I was down 2.4 pounds.

Now, keep in mind that most Mondays these days I’m still coming down from a 4-7 pound weight spike, depending on the outrageousness of my Saturday cheat day. It’s typical for me to drop a pound or two from Monday to Tuesday, so it’s not like that nutty lunch is some big breakthrough.

What DID strike me as significant, though, is that marking Monday as “nut day” – when I literally let myself eat as many cashews or almonds as I want for lunch, with another handful or two for dinner – is becoming a reliable way to both control my appetite/cravings AND make sure I stay on track with erasing a cheat-day gain.

The other reason this works for me: I hate serving sizes. They make good sense nutritionally, but they feel too restrictive in  my opinion. I’d much rather feast on 7-8 ounces of cashews in one day and none the rest of the week than nibble on one puny ounce every day.

It may sound nutty, but it works for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crapload of cashews = 2.4 pound weight loss

  1. zoeforman says:

    If it works keep eating & enjoying the nuts on Mondays 😃🍴

Leave a Reply

