Low carb flax seed flatbread pizza

flaxflatbreadpizza

This flatbread made from ground flax seed has been making my life much easier during the week, when I’m avoiding most grains. It’s super simple. Basically I took the flax seed muffin I wrote about last week and took away three ingredients, leaving only:

1 egg

3 T. ground flax seed (this is the only ingredient with any carbs, and this is only about 6 grams’ worth)

1 t. baking powder

1/4 t. salt

1 t. coconut oil

That’s pretty much it. I bake this at 350 degrees until it looks like a pancake (or a large flat hamburger, which is what my husband thought it was the other day). The first time I made it I just coated it with a little bit of butter and ate it like toast, which was awesome to a bread-deprived soul. The second time I made this pizza you see above, with tomatoes, avocado and black olives. Also tasty.

Haven’t tried making this in the microwave. Not sure I will, either, since I like the way it turns out in the oven.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Low carb flax seed flatbread pizza

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Tisch, I love ya tough girl, but DAMN!

Leave a Reply

