A kid’s point of view: Last xc meet (and now I’m 12!)

colleenxcfinish

Here I am on the straightaway heading to the finish with Mr. Misch (the high school principal and my old softball coach) cheering me on as usual (on the left) and Grandpa cheering me on the right.

By Colleen, age 12

Wednesday was my last cross country meet of the season AND my last day as an 11-year-old. I didn’t go as fast as Mom and Ben wanted me to but I got a course PR so that’s good. Also, Grandma and Grandpa and Kyla and Kobi and Uncle Brent and Aunt Traci and Uncle Gunnar and my cousin Madison all came to cheer me on, which was awesome.

The only bad thing was my neon Nike Structures got all covered in mud, which kind of sucks. Mom promised to clean my shoes so that’s the only reason that I agreed to wear them.

Yesterday was my birthday and it was quite fabulous. Mom made chocolate chip pumpkin muffins for breakfast and I got to open one of my presents, which was a neon Norwell hoodie I’ve been wanting. In gym class I helped my team get a triple play in mat ball, which was awesome. Then I went to cross country practice even though I didn’t have to (since I’m not one of the people running in the conference meet) and then I had basketball practice, which is always fun. All in all it was a great day and I am liking being 12.

Here I am coming around the flag on the hill.

Here I am coming around the flag on the hill.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

