My new go-to pre-run snack

Experimenting with the slow carb diet was a real challenge for me, running-wise. I don’t know if it was mental or what, but I always felt hungry on a run – as if my body needed carbs for fuel.

Yes, it's ugly. But it works for me.

Yes, it’s ugly. But it works for me.

Finally, I adapted this low-carb ground flax muffin, which is really filling to begin with, by adding half a mushed-up frozen banana. Yes, I know bananas aren’t allowed on low-carb diets. But this has really satisfied me without causing a weight spike. And I’ve come to rely on it enough that I’m gonna stick with it, even though I’m now weaning myself off the slow-carb diet.

Banana flax muffin in a mug

  1. Spray a mug with cooking spray
  2. Microwave and mash up ½ frozen banana in mug.
  3. Add an egg and whisk with a fork.
  4. Add the following and mix well with a fork:
    1. 3 T. ground flax seed
    2. 1 teaspoon baking powder
    3. 1 packet Stevia
    4. 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Note: Most versions of this recipe I’ve seen online (sans banana) call for 1 teaspoon of coconut oil. Instead of adding that to the muffin, which is nice and moist with the banana, I’ve been putting that in a cup of coffee. Some people swear by this coffee as a powerhouse sports drink. I can’t really say, since I’ve only used it in conjunction with the muffin. But the combination has really worked for me, so I’m sticking with it.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My new go-to pre-run snack

  1. Moni A says:

    How long did you leave in the microwave?

Leave a Reply

