Low Carb Commuting Miles for September

A total of … 2. Which begs the question: Have I abandoned this project?  Why am I even bothering to track this if I can’t make more of an effort to do it?

Well, it is true that I only had a couple of decent months out of the nine thus far in 2014. I was really building some momentum this summer until a hamstring injury derailed my biking, and it’s been tough to get back at it – especially when my focus is on training for a 50K trail run in December.

Still, I think tracking – whether it’s food intake or fitness – is a good way to lay the groundwork for progress. It keeps raising the question: Should I bike part of the way to work if I’m too intimidated to go the whole distance? Should I try the mountain bike if it’s too discouraging to head out on the highway that first mile or two? Or, in the case of yesterday, should I bike to the post office to mail that newspaper column to Aunt Jokie?

I didn’t, because I had a lot of work to get done around the house and I was going to be driving through town later in the day anyway to get to Colleen’s cross country meet in Fort Wayne. I decided it was a better use of my time to tackle some much-needed leaf raking for yesterday’s cross-training session.

A lot of excuses, I know. But as long as this project stays on my mind rather than in the rear-view mirror, there’s a chance that I’ll actually make some progress. And there’s no time like October, when the weather’s still likely to be decent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

