Buffalo run

Usually when Colleen and I run on the buffalo trail, there's this one guy who always follows us. Not on Tuesday, though. Every one of these guys was in lazing around mode.

Usually when Colleen and I run on the buffalo trail, there’s this one guy who always follows us. Not on Tuesday, though. Every one of these guys was in lazing around mode.

The buffalo trail at Ouabache State Park is one of Colleen’s favorite places to run, especially now that she’s avoiding paved trails during cross country season. It felt weird to go there without her yesterday, but it was a gorgeous fall afternoon and for some reason I just felt like checking in on the buffalo. Or rather, bison. (I forget what the distinction is, but I do know that’s what they’ve got there.)

I kept thinking I should’ve rode my bike over to the park – I haven’t gotten back into riding much since my injury – but it’s a good thing I didn’t because they were paving the road. Maybe next time.

I didn’t go as far as I intended, just 3 easy miles when I was originally thinking 5-6. Seems like I’m having a hard time building my distance running back up, but guess I just need to be patient. Or something.

This one couldn't even trouble himself to open his eyes for a cell phone shot.

This one couldn’t even trouble himself to open his eyes for a cell phone shot.

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buffalo run

  1. Gpa says:

    I wonder if any of these bison have any blood lines to the one’s I saw there back in the 40’s and 50’s?

Leave a Reply

