Low-carb commuting  frustration  

So the month is half over and I have yet to record a single Low Carb Commuting mile. Meanwhile, I’ve driven a ridiculous amount: 1,223 miles.

Our trip to Tennessee was part of the reason for this (in both respects), but ever since we’ve gotten back I’ve been itching to attempt a ride to work while lacking the confidence to do so. Before our trip, I was thinking that with some hard (but fun) work I could turn a 2-hour commute into something closer to an hour. Lately, though, everything about work feels more complicated as we struggle with a severely messed-up computer system switchover. I don’t seem to have any leftover mental energy to plan and psyche myself up for a challenging 20+-mile ride with no margin for error that could make me late for work.

It’s not getting light as early now, either, which is a bit intimidating. But the stupid thing is, even as I let all this fretting get in my way, I know that tackling this ride would leave me invigorated and better able to cope with work hassles. Hopefully I’ll crawl out of this rut soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Low-carb commuting  frustration  

  1. bgddyjim says:

    You won’t. You’ll stay in this rut until you just get on your bike and just do it. On the other hand, twenty miles is a tough commute distance – figure an hour and fifteen minutes. That’s a lot of time each way…

    Your conclusion was right though. You want to burn some calories? Twenty miles, twice a day would do it. You want to lose some weight? That’s a pound (a little more actually) every other day – and much more the faster you get.

    So you’ll keep looking for that perfect day only to realize after you’ve finally done it that you were making a mountain out of a mole hill – and that’s exactly what will happen.

    Good luck, I’m rooting for you.

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Thanks for the kick in the pants. Gonna go wake my son up here in a minute and see if he’ll drive me part way this morning …

  3. Every day I drive to work this summer I think about going low-carb. I could walk to a bus stop or to the T station. A Charlie card costs less than my parking garage fee. I could also bike to work.
    I hate wasting so much money to park my car all day, but the logistics of getting to work and taking a shower seem daunting. Then there’ getting my clothese to work in a back pack so that they don’t look like I just took them out of the hamper!

    • tischcaylor says:

      Logistics are a problem for sure. Today I had my son drop me off so he could use the car and just rode home. Didn’t have to worry about messing up my clothes but I DID have to carry them home, along with a pair of sandals. Far from an ideal ride but I was glad I did it.

Leave a Reply

