100-calorie candy store satisfaction

Chocolate dipped pretzels from the Party Shop Coffee and Confections in downtown Huntington. (From the store's Facebook Page.)

Chocolate dipped pretzels from the Party Shop Coffee and Confections in downtown Huntington. (From the store’s Facebook Page.)

I’m not gonna lie: When I walked into a Huntington candy store disguised as a coffee shop late Tuesday afternoon, those gigantic homemade turtles sitting on a thick bed of pecans just inside the front door got my attention.

Luckily, Colleen called me over to the chocolate-dipped pretzels instead.

“How many calories do you think these are?” she asked.

I didn’t know, but we both figured they had to be a heck of a lot less than those turtles. Later, googling various gourmet versions (as well as a plain pretzel plus three Hershey’s kisses), we came up with a guesstimate of around 100 calories. (Our pretzels weren’t quite as fully coated as those in the photo above.)

We walked out of there with a satisfying treat, minus the guilt. (Good thing I hadn’t been by myself, or I might have succumbed to turtle temptation.)

I got this off the Party Shop's facebook page, but it's basically the same sight we encountered Tuesday afternoon.

I got this off the Party Shop’s facebook page, but it’s basically the same sight we encountered Tuesday afternoon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

