A 21-mile bike ride home from work

Gotta love the Towpath Trail, which whisks me through southwest Fort Wayne without encountering cars, except at the occasional intersection.

Gotta love the Towpath Trail, which whisks me through southwest Fort Wayne without ever encountering cars, except at the occasional intersection.

I’d been nervous about riding my bike to work because of the distance, darkness and time involved. But when training for a new computer system had my husband and I both scheduled to go into the office at 10 a.m. late last week, I figured it was a perfect opportunity to ride up with Bob and ride my bike home — this time in broad daylight.

It took me more than 2 hours to ride the 21 miles from the office to our front door, including periodic waits at busy intersections. But the traffic itself wasn’t bad. I rode the River Greenway and the Towpath Trail for the first 4.5 miles, then took a lightly used back route home. (I hadn’t even realized Coverdale Road crosses over I-469 until a couple of weeks ago; I think I maybe saw one motorcycle in 3-4 miles on that lonely road.)

Riding through rural southern Allen and northern Wells counties reminded me of the times my brother and I rode our bikes to Berne during the summer to see Dad at the bank. I kept reminding myself that I was in no hurry, that I could just enjoy the ride if I wanted to. At one point, I startled a turkey buzzard as wide as my bike was long and watched in awe as it took flight 20 yards ahead.

Fun as that was, I can’t budget 2+ hours for each end of my commute, even if it is only a couple of days a week. (I could work to do it faster, but that won’t happen overnight.) But on Monday I did leave early enough to ride the last 4.5 miles after leaving my car at the Towpath trail head.  The sun was just coming up as I rode, and the recovered wetlands were alive with the sound of birds. The ride back afterward was just as fun — maybe more so because I was leaving work instead of just arriving.

Now for the bad news: Despite accumulating 42 low carb commuting miles so far this month (37 on the bike and 5 walking), that’s just a drop in the bucket compared to the 1,048 miles I’ve put on the car through the first 16 days of June.

 

 


of t

This entry was posted in sustainability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 21-mile bike ride home from work

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Tisch, you’ve got the right idea here… Nobody starts out doing 20 miles in an hour. If you can park closer to work, as you did, all the better. Start at that 4.5 miles as hard as you can go (shoot for 15-16 mph or 3:50 to 4:00 per mile) and build from there – either faster or longer. Before you know it, you’ll be doing that commute in an hour.

Leave a Reply

