A kid’s point of view: The coincidence bike

This week I’ve been worried about the triathlon because my bike was getting worse instead of better. Cleaning the chain didn’t help as much as we thought it would AND THEN one of the brakes broke!

colleenMom said maybe I could ride her bike and she would ride mine with the broken brake. We were driving the bike course on Monday and then we were going to ride. Somehow we got off on this big talk about coincidences and wound up going too far. Then when we finally stopped to turn around, right there believe it or not was a bike shop in someone’s garage — and they just happened to have a girls’ 26-inch drop-bar bike that was perfect for me!

The first thing I did on my “new” bike, which is a Huffy, is swap out the seat from my old bike. We thought about trading in my old bike but decided to use it to practice fixing things and maybe for parts.

On Thursday Mom and I got up at 6:30 and went for a 7-mile ride. At one part I was really struggling. My thighs were burning very badly. But that part didn’t last too long and after that it was fun. My new bike is very smooth and easy to ride. The gears shift very well. I am excited about Saturday but also kind of nervous. But at least I am not worried about my bike anymore!

P.S. We won both games in our doubleheader last night! I came up with the bases loaded twice and both times I got hits, for a total of 3 RBIs!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A kid’s point of view: The coincidence bike

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Congrats on your new bike! And some advice from an ex-bike-noob: On a bike they’re not thighs, they’re “quads”. 😜

Leave a Reply

