My favorite postrun snacks (200 calories or less)

It’s so easy for me to inhale everything in sight after a run – as many calories as I eat the rest of the day combined if I’m not careful. But after reading a Runner’s World article on weight loss a while back (which I now can’t seem to find, sorry), I’ve been enforcing a 200-calorie limit on postrun snacks.

Here are my favorites as of late:

  1. Raspberries taste great after a run, and they're full of antioxidants, too.

    Raspberries taste great after a run, and they’re full of antioxidants, too.

    A 70-calorie Boca original vegan veggie burger with a 90-calorie Slimwich and 1 T. of salsa con queso (22 calories).

  2. ½ cup oatmeal (73 calories) with 1 T. of peanut butter (95 calories), ¼ cup skim milk (20 calories) and a couple of strawberries (4 calories each per medium berry).
  3. Two 5.3-ounce containers of 80-calorie Dannon Light & Fit Greek yogurt. (Feels so decadent to eat two of these babies, and still just 160 calories.)
  4. A “python sandwich” – a boiled egg (70 calories) on two slices of Healthy Goodness bread (35 calories each) with 1 T. of salsa con queso. (I call it that because of the large lump in the middle.)
  5. An entire 1-pint container of raspberries, dripping wet after a good rinsing. So refreshing, and you can eat the whole thing for 164 calories!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My favorite postrun snacks (200 calories or less)

  1. bgddyjim says:

    My favorite after a run is watermelon… Absolutely one if natures perfect after “I ran my butt off” snacks. I like the python sammich… Now that’s funny.

    • tischcaylor says:

      Wish I liked watermelon more. I love fruit after a run but usually I go for some kind of berries.

    • I had watermellon after a 5K a few summers ago and it was so good. All water and sugar. It was a small race and when I first saw it I thought “how quaint”. A good old fashioned snack.
      But it was the best thing. The BAA should offer it after a race. I’ve had watermellon after a few other smaller races, and it is the perfect balance of sugar and water.
      Often after a race I am hungry. Other times I don’t feel like eating for hours.

  2. I know exactly what you mean, I can go so overboard after running!! Good snack suggestions!

Leave a Reply

