A kid’s point of view: My blog anniversary AND my last day of elementary school!

By Colleen, age 11

Today is the last day of school, my fifth grade graduation to middle school AND the one-year anniversary of me writing these Friday blog posts. What a day!

colleenI am excited and nervous to graduate from Ossian Elementary School. Mostly I’m excited but here’s why I’m nervous: I am supposed to play my recorder at the ceremony. I’m not the only one, but still … I hope we don’t screw up!

I am going to miss my teacher and my school, but I am excited to go to Norwell Middle School next year. I am going to play the trombone in the band. I am thinking about running cross country. I am DEFINITELY going out for the soccer team!

It has been fun writing this “column” — I can’t believe it’s been a whole year! I think my writing has gotten a lot better since I started. I have lots of great memories writing this, and I plan to keep doing it over the summer.

Oh yeah, we also had two softball games this week. We won one and lost one, and I got a double in both games. I play first base, just like in baseball. Our team is called the Lionesses and we have a bunch of crazy cheers. What a fun week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A kid’s point of view: My blog anniversary AND my last day of elementary school!

  1. Enjoy your time off school, how nice to have the whole summer to look forward to.
    I can’t believe you’ve been writing on your mom’s blog for a whole year, being only 11 years old! You have so much determination, I’m sure you are a great example and inspiration to other kids.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Enjoy summer vacation and congratulations… On everything!

  3. Sandra says:

    Congratulations! What an important time of your life. Play hard and study even harder next Fall!

  4. I’m glad you had a fun week.
    Transitions in life can be challenging and scary. I think you have the right attitude. Here is some advice from an old man (turning 50 in September). Take risks, do things, participate, be involved. We all only get to pass this way once and there are no do-overs. Once today is gone you cannot go back and try out for the team or pickup that instrument.
    We can only take one path through life, though often the choice of which way to go is difficult. I think it is better to look back and say I did something than to look back and say I wasted a day or summer doing nothing or the same old things I always did. May your path be interesting, challenging and fun.

    • tischcaylor says:

      Thanks for the inspiring words, I will show them to Colleen. BTW, I am also turning 50 at the end of the year. The upside, in my opinion: Being on the young end of the age group race divisions. 🙂

      • Agreed. The Male 45-49 is a tough group. I’m hoping I can do better in the 50-55 group. Plus I get 5 more minutes added to my Boston Qualifying time. Who says you can’t give time as a gift?

Leave a Reply

