The ‘tastes thin’ boundary

I used to really hate hearing that old phrase, “Nothing tastes as good as feeling thin feels.”

Mmm. Nothing makes me feel better than a big bite of a Special K bar -- unless I'm over my "tastes thin" boundary, in which case it makes me feel worse.

Mmm. Nothing makes me feel better than a big bite of a Special K bar — unless I’m over my “tastes thin” boundary, in which case it makes me feel worse.

It rings true, which is why it’s so often repeated. But if you’re a long way off from feeling thin – if you have a hard time remembering what that feels like – then it’s no contest. The instant gratification and anesthetizing power of your favorite sugar bomb is going to win every time.

Now that I’m in the “feeling thin” zone, this is a more useful tool. But for me it doesn’t work as a slogan or reminder so much as in setting a boundary for myself. If I’m pretty close to where I want my weight to be, I don’t feel guilty about having something sweet. But if I’m more than five pounds over, I crash into that barrier where even my favorite treats lose their appeal.

It’s not like a brownie or a doughnut wouldn’t taste good. But if my jeans are snug and I feel like a cow when I go for a run, the irritation (and even panic) that generates overrides the pleasure of a sugar high.

This doesn’t mean that I’m out of danger in terms of gaining back all that weight I lost in 2010. I need to keep an eye on the “tastes thin” barrier so that it doesn’t keep creeping up over time. If I get too comfortable with a few excess pounds, or buy a bigger pair of jeans, then it won’t be long until I will once again have trouble remembering what it feels like to be thin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The ‘tastes thin’ boundary

  1. Dad says:

    Couldn’t agree with you more on feeling thin!!

    • tischcaylor says:

      Well, I can’t say I feel thin at this exact moment, which is why I abstained when we went to a Mexican restaurant last night after my son’s baseball game.

  2. That phrase works for me, it makes me think twice about how worth it is to eat something unhealthy or with too many calories. Wanting a second piece of cake loses its appeal when I think about the 500 extra calories, or about feeling heavy during my run tomorrow morning.
    At the same time, I don’t like the feeling of restricting myself, so I try to find the balance of eating what I want, without overdoing it.

Leave a Reply

