A super cool Mother’s Day gift

My husband stopped buying me presents years ago because I’m the world’s worst gift recipient. I overanalyze everything, fret about the cost and consistently fail to display the proper amount of unbridled joy (even when I try really hard).

 

I was happy with pizza and Dr. Who -- imagine my surprise when Colleen volunteered to do a triathlon with me!

I was happy with pizza and Dr. Who — imagine my surprise when Colleen volunteered to do a triathlon with me!

Instead, my family now gives me experiences instead of material things. Spending time together is something I ALWAYS appreciate, especially with our hectic schedule and our oldest off at college. We kept it pretty simple, watching some Dr. Who with Rowan and her boyfriend Ty while feasting on gourmet pizzas from Tyeger’s.

But the really awesome bonus was when our youngest, Colleen, volunteered to do a triathlon with me.

I’ve been wondering if I’d get around to doing one this year. Much as I enjoy them, I don’t really like going by myself. And my sister, my usual running/fitness buddy, has been so busy I’ve hardly seen her in weeks.

The June 14 Jorgensen Super Sprint Tri is a very doable distance for an 11-year-old, with a 300-meter pool swim, a 7.5 mile bike leg and a 2-mile run. We went for a short training ride yesterday and discovered that our “baby” can now ride my 26-inch bike. Much as that freaked me out, it is super cool to have a new triathlon partner.

As for my mom, she got a Mother’s Day surprise as well: A heaping dose of gratitude from a daughter with a long history of ignoring her advice, wrapped up in an advance copy of today’s News-Sentinel column.

This entry was posted in family, running, triathlon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A super cool Mother’s Day gift

  1. Mark Smidt says:

    Wonderful Mother’s Day present!

    • tischcaylor says:

      Thank you — it’s so cool when your kids express an interest in the things you like. (We’ll see if that changes when she gets to be a teenager…)

  2. Who’s better than Colleen! That’s very cool! Happy Mom’s Day!

  3. What an AWESOME present you received!!!

Leave a Reply

